• June 14, 2024

Meeting with heads of delegations taking part in the meeting of the SCO Council of Foreign Ministers

14.07.2021 10:40, Dushanbe city

The Founder of Peace and National Unity, Leader of the Nation, President of Tajikistan Emomali Rahmon met with heads of delegations taking part in the meeting of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) Council of Foreign Ministers. The meeting took place in the Palace of the Nation.

The discussion focused on the current status and prospects for the development of relations between SCO member nations and the preparation for the jubilee meeting of the SCO Council of Heads of State in Dushanbe.

“Tajikistan will chair the Shanghai Cooperation Organization in accordance with the previously stated principles of continuity, equality, mutual understanding and respect for the position of each member state. The main task of Tajikistan as the chairman is to contribute, together with other member states and permanent bodies, to ensure the further development of the organization,” said President Rahmon.

It was emphasized that over the 20-year period of its activity, the SCO has covered all issues of the international and regional agenda from politics, security, economics to humanitarian cooperation.

The meeting also focused on the joint fight against terrorism, extremism, as well as illegal arms and drug trafficking.

Regional issues were also touched upon, in particular, the situation in Afghanistan. In this context, it was stressed that Tajikistan, taking into account the escalation of tensions in Afghanistan, is taking urgent measures to address the problems of this neighboring country, using all multilateral levels.

A proposal was made for SCO member nations and its permanent bodies to work closely for the implementation of the Strategy for the Development of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) for a period until 2025 which is aimed at raising and ensuring the development of the organization.

The meeting concluded with remarks by Foreign Ministers – Abdulaziz Kamilov of Uzbekistan, Wang Yi of China, Sergey Lavrov of Russia, and Subrahmanyam Jaishankar of India.


Read Previous

30 years of Independence Day of the Republic of Tajikistan

Read Next

President Emomali Rahmon Holds Phone Talk with UN Secretary-General Guterres