• April 21, 2024

Visa Information

The Government of the Republic of Tajikistan introduced a unilateral visa-exemption regime for citizens of 52 countries including Malaysia, Indonesia and Thailand (the list of 52 countries attached below) commencing 1st of January 2022.

The citizens of eligible countries are allowed to enter, stay and exit Tajikistan within 30 days, and an extension of staying of them to be carried out according to the legislation of Tajikistan.

Pursuant to the legislation of the Republic of Tajikistan citizens of eligible countries are required to register themselves with relevant authorities of Tajikistan within 10 days from the date of arrival to Tajikistan.

The introduction of a unilateral visa exemption regime from January 1, 2022, applies to the citizens of the following countries:

  1. Australia
  2. United Arab Emirates
  3. Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
  4. State of Brunei Dorusalam
  5. State of Kuwait
  6. State of Qatar
  7. New Zealand
  8. United States of America
  9. Iceland
  10. Canada
  11. Swiss Confederation
  12. Malaysia
  13. Hungary
  14. Austrian Republic
  15. Argentine Republic
  16. Federal Republic of Germany
  17. Dominican Republic
  18. Republic of Indonesia
  19. Italian Republic
  20. Republic of Korea
  21. Republic of Cuba
  22. Republic of Latvia
  23. Republic of Lithuania
  24. Maldives
  25. Republic of Poland
  26. Portuguese Republic
  27. Republic of Singapore
  28. Turkish Republic
  29. Republic of the Philippines
  1. Finland
  2. French Republic
  3. Republic of Croatia
  4. Czech Republic
  5. Republic of Chile
  6. Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka
  7. Republic of Ecuador
  8. Republic of Estonia
  9. Hellenic Republic
  10. Principality of Liechtenstein
  11. Principality of Monaco
  12. Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  13. Kingdom of Bahrain
  14. Kingdom of Belgium.
  15. Kingdom of Denmark
  16. Kingdom of Spain
  17. Kingdom of the Netherlands
  18. Kingdom of Norway
  19. Kingdom of Thailand
  20. Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
  21. Kingdom of Sweden
  22. Jamaica
  23. Japan


What is an e-Visa?
The e-Visa is an alternative to visas issued at diplomatic/consular missions abroad and at the ports of entry, i.e. international airports. Applicants obtain their visas electronically after entering required information and making payments by a credit or debit card (Mastercard, Visa or American Express).

What do you need for your e-Visa application?
Fill in an application form, upload required documents and pay for your visa application online. The link to download your e-Visa will be given on the final step where you will be informed that your application has been completed successfully. In addition, the same link to download your e-Visa will be emailed to you.

How much is an e-Visa fee?
– Single entry is 30 USD
– Multiple entry is 50 USD
– The GBAO permit fee is 20 USD

Note: The validity of the e-visa duration is 90 days, however the tourists can stay at the territory of the Republic of Tajikistan not more than 60 days.


From January 1st, 2017 the Embassy has implemented a new electronic system of visa processing and issuance for foreign nationals and stateless persons. 

If you want to obtain a visa at the Embassy, please follow the steps below:

Submit the application form and upload the supporting documents here
*Provide a valid passport, which has at least two blank pages for a visa.
*Your passport must be valid for at least three months longer than the validity of the requested visa

When you receive the email, follow the instructions it contains carefully
On the day of your appointment at the Embassy, bring your appointment letter and application pack, along with your passport. 

You will be fingerprinted and your photo will be captured when you arrive for your interview at the Embassy, and then you will be given an acknowledgment for the submission of your passport.

*There are some applicants whose fingerprints are not required, including:
– Diplomats
– Children

After a decision has been made, your documents will be ready for collection. 
You will be prompted to pay a visa fee in accordance with the visa category you have chosen, upon collection of the passport. 
You have to collect your passport in person from the Embassy.


For Express Service you will need to submit your application and supportive documents as written on STEP 1 and then contact the Embassy by email or by phone requiring express service to be provided.

The processing time usually takes 24 hours after your notification. The Embassy staff will inform you when to visit the Embassy for taking biometric data. The visa will be issued during your visit to the Embassy. The fee for Express Service is twice higher than for a normal one.

See below for information about the types and validities of the Tajik visa as well as supporting documents that applicants should provide in order to obtain a visa


GBAO (Kuhistoni Badakhshon Autonomous Province of Tajikistan) is the frontier territory of Tajikistan and has special permission entry, which allows an applicant to visit Khorogh, Darvoz, Vanj, Rushon, Ishkoshim and Murghob districts.

It is required to submit a letter stating that the applicant is requesting a permit to enter the mentioned area.

The foreign nationals who are going to stay in Tajikistan for more than three months except for the visa categories: “diplomatic”, “official”, “investment” and “humanitarian” require a certificate from the medical institutions to prove that they are not infected with HIV/AIDS.

Under “family members” are understood:
– the spouse
– children
– children adopted by the foreign citizen


Please be informed that foreign citizens who have a standard visa and who are subject to a visa-free regime for entry, stay and exit from the Republic of Tajikistan are required to register with the internal affairs bodies of the Republic of Tajikistan within 10 (ten) working days, with the exception of citizens of countries that are exempt from registration for a certain period under the relevant agreements.

Registration of employees of diplomatic services is carried out at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Tajikistan.

(Law of the Republic of Tajikistan “On the legal status of foreign citizens and stateless persons in the Republic of Tajikistan”)